Tick Tock Clock

Heyoo xo`

Today, I forgot to put on my watch.

So, throughout the day – you would find me searching blankly around the room for some indicator of the time.

Which is when i realised that i don’t have a (functioning) clock in my room. Honest.

So, in school, we are making Acrylic Clocks, and I’m going to make the most creative, fun clock i can think of, to put in my room..

Here are my ideas and sketches so far:

clock

I love the geometrical simplicity, symmetry and colourful boldness of this one.

Each square represents an hour.

I might need a base layer though, to stick all the squares down on.

This design is also probably the easiest to cut out and file!

Photo on 03-05-2013 at 12.20 #2

This is more artistically creative, and less precise – like a splash of paint on my wall.

Its just one layer, but it could be hard to cut…

But maybe too much red? I could use another colour…

Photo on 03-05-2013 at 12.21

Although its made of layered crosses, this clock represnts a flower, with sharp corners but smooth edges.

Yellow and purple are my favourite colours, because they give a contrast of warm and cool, yet are extremely complimentary.

However, i think i went overboard with the yellow in this design. Maybe if the bottom later was red or green, it would look more attractive?

Photo on 03-05-2013 at 12.21 #2

I love this idea – its innovative, creative and would go well with the theme of my room.

The colour is also quite attractive – a turquoise green.

However, unless I have a white base, with the spiral stuck on in vinyl, this design would be almost impossible to cut, file, and make!

Also, the battery pack would probable show from underneath.

Photo on 03-05-2013 at 12.21 #4

This design is inspired by Memphis clocks the most.

It is quite asymmetrical, but still very attractive and pleasing to the eye.

The colours start cool on the inside and get warmer on the outside, and are like the colours of the rainbow.

The black circles represnt each hour and i like the way they stand out.

*

What do you think? Which design is your favourite?

Check out some of these cool clocks:

Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 13.41.18 Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 13.42.09 Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 13.42.28 Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 13.42.56 Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 13.43.21 Screen Shot 2013-05-04 at 13.43.49

I’ll post you my instructions on how to build a clock and a picture of my finished product when i’m done.

Why don’t you try your own creative project, such as building a weird and wonderful clock?

Clocks are perfect for any occasion. They’re completely useful for, well… telling the time, they can add a splash of colour and design originality to the room, and they’re are a lovely gift for your Mum or Brother. And all the better if you make it yourself!

xo`

Leave a Reply

